6 win design awards from NWAIA


The Northwest Washington chapter of the American Institute of Architects has picked the winners of its 2012 design awards.

There are three levels of awards: honor, merit and citation. The Glen Hunt Award recognizes work that integrates architecture and landscape; the young architect/intern award goes to a talented young designer; and the sustainability award recognizes in sustainable practices.

To enter the competition, firms must be based in Whatcom, Skagit, Island or San Juan counties.
Honor award and sustainability award: Jansen Art Center in Lynden

Owner: The Jansen Foundation

Architect: Zervas Group Architects

Builder: Exxel Pacific

Consultant: King Works, structural engineering
Merit award: Immanuel School of Industries in Bellingham

Owner: Horst Bansner

Architect: Grinstad & Wagner Architects

Builder: Scoboria Construction

Consultants: Pinner Engineering, structural, and Freeland & Associates, civil engineering
Merit award: WWU Bellingham waterfront character study

Owner: Western Washington University

Charrette leader: Christensen Design Management

Charrette participants: Stratus, NBBJ, CollinsWoerman

Citation award and Glen Hunt award: Redemption Garden Shed on Whidbey Island

Owner: Laura LeDesky

Architect: Terry LeDesky Architect

Builder: Terry LeDesky
Citation award: Skagit River House in La Conner

Architect: Brooks Middleton, Architect

Architectural collaborator: Studio Sarah Willmer Architecture

Builder: Kreider Construction

Consultant: West Coast Engineers
Young architect/intern award: Matt Radach of Designs Northwest Architects

Project: Smith Farmstead in Skagit Valley

Owner: Pat and Richard Smith

Consultants: Langford Associates Landscape Architecture, Custom Design Engineering and Frey Construction